British Virgin Islands Visa Exemption Programme

Effective September 1st, 2016, this policy will allow nationals of a country where BVI visas are required, who hold a UK, US or Canada visas and are visiting the BVI for Business or tourism related matters, to enter and remain for a period of less than six (6) months, without the need for a visa.

Holders of current and valid visas issued by the United Kingdom, United States or Canada should have six (6) months of validity or use prior to travel to the BVI. Furthermore, the exemption would only apply to visits of six months or less.

Nationals of the following countries listed below require a visa to enter the BVI. (updated Dec 2019)

• Afghanistan• Guinea• Pakistan
• Albania• Guinea-Bissau• Palestine
• Algeria• Guyana• Peru
• Angola• Haiti• Philippines
• Armenia• Indonesia• Qatar
• Azerbaijan• Iran• Russian Republic
• Bahrain• Iraq• Rwanda
• Belarus• Israel• Sao Tome & Principle
• Benin• Ivroy Coast• Saudi Arabia
• Bhutan• Jamaica

• Senegal

• Serbia

• Bosnia-Herzegovina• Jordan 
• Burkina• Kazakstan• Somalia
• Burundi• Kyrgyztan• Sudan
• Burma• Korea (North)• Surinam
• Cambodia• Kuwait• Syria
• Cameroon• Laos• Taiwan *
• Cape Verdi• Lebanon• Tajikistan
• Central African Republic• Liberia• Thailand
• Chad• Libya• Togo
• China (except Hong Kong SAI)• Macedonia• Turkey
• Columbia• Madagasgar• Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus
• Comoros• Mali• Turmenistan
• Congo (Democratic Rebublic)• Mauritania• Ukraine

• Cuba

• Cyprus

• Maldova

• United Arab Emirates

• Uzbekistan

• Djibouti• Mongolia• Vietnam
• Dominican Republic• Morocco• Yemen
• Egypt• Mozambique 
• Equatorial Guinea• Myanmar• Zaire
• Eritrea• Nepal 
• Ethiopia• Niger 
• Gabon• Nigeria 
• Georgia• Oman 


Visa Waiver for Taiwanese:

On 3rd April, 2012, the Honourable Premier and Minister of Finance issued a statement that visas are no longer required for Taiwanese passport holders who wish to visit the BVI for less than six (6) months as tourists, family visitors, business travellers and student visitors. For all other categories, the usual visa requirements will apply. The Premier noted that the British Virgin Islands already has a substantial international business engagement with the Asian region, so exploring into the tourism market is a natural transition. He further stated that beside tourism, the lifting of restrictions will also allow the British Virgin Islands and Taiwan to explore other economic and cultural opportunities. The BVI is the 125th country or region to grant visa-free entry or landing visas to Taiwanese passport holders.

* Revised 3rd April 2012

To apply for the visa to enter the British Virgin Islands please visit your nearest British Embassy, High Commision or Consulate. If you are in a region where that is not possible please contact the British Virign Islands Passport Office.

Civil Registry & Passport Office
P.O. Box 3199
Road Town, Tortola  VG1110
British Virgin Islands
Phone: (284) 468 3048
Fax: (284) 468 3182

Or Visit:

BVI Civil Registry & Passport Office 

Application Forms and Instructions





Local Info

For more local info click the button below.

Useful Links

We have put together some links you may find useful. Including Government Departments, Tourism Partners, Local News and Publications and more.